### About Harvard Trade Union Program

The Harvard Trade Union Program (HTUP) is an intensive five-week executive training program designed for trade union leaders. It is a program of the Center for Labor and a Just Economy (CLJE) at Harvard Law School. HTUP is the oldest executive leadership program at Harvard University. Since 1942, HTUP has taught the essential skills for the management and leadership of unions, as well as providing a unique opportunity to explore key issues for the labor movement.

## About the Center for Labor and a Just Economy

The Center for Labor and a Just Economy (CLJE) at Harvard Law School is a hub of collaborative research, policy and strategies to empower working people to build an equitable economy and democracy. Acknowledging the systemic failures and extreme concentration of power in our society, we are committed to reimagining the law and developing paradigm-shifting policy.

Center for Labor and a Just Economy
Harvard Law School
Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 495-9265
www.clje.law.harvard.edu
www.htup.law.harvard.edu





# Harvard Trade Union Program 111th Session Commencement

**February 9, 2024** 

## Milstein East, Wasserstein Hall Harvard Law School

1585 Massachusetts Ave. Cambridge, MA

Preparing Leadership for the Challenges of Today and Tomorrow

#### **Commencement Program**

#### Class of 2024

Welcome	Sharon Block, Executive Director, CLJE
	Professor of Practice, Harvard Law School

Greetings Richard Freeman, Faculty Co-Director, CLJE
Herbert Ascherman Prof. of Economics, Harvard Univ.

Guest Speaker Shawn Fain, President, United Auto Workers

Julie Hébert, United Steelworkers/Métallos

**Class Speakers** 

Shamaiah Tibet Turner, Northeast Regional

Council of SMART

Presentation of Certificates

Sharon Block, Executive Director, CLJE

Alida Castillo, Director of HTUP, CLJE

Jack Trumpbour, Research Director, CLJE

Amanda Nesha' Sawyer-Turner Aminata Stephens

Anil Naidoo

Arturo E. Aguilar

Brandon Milo Dew

Bryan A. Epps Chaton Green Donald M. Brown

Erik J. Estrada

Eugene Fletcher Van Buren Jr.

Frank N. Anderson

Ismael Daniel Sulivan

Jacques Chapman James A. Jacobs

Jennifer Rebecca Charles

John W. Lepley

John W. Lepley

Jonathan Jeffrey Goddard

Julie Hébert

Justin Warwick Power

Kristopher A. Dass Kristyn M. Houchen Kyle B. Thornberg

Kyle Ross

Kylee Joan Houpapa

Laura Donovan
Leanne Alfaro
Mark A. Henry
Matthew Stafford

Michael Avant Jr.

Mohammed Awol Alhassan

Oscar E. Carcamo Jr.

Patricia Creech Patrick J. Walsh Russel Smith

Sean O'Leary Shamaiah Tibet Turner

Teresa M. Cassady

Todd Charles Pinkerton

## **Trade Union Sponsors**

AFSCME 2218

AFSCME 3299 AFSCME 434

Amalgamated Transit Union

**BCGEU** 

CSEA/AFSCME 1000

Greater Boston Building Trades Union Health Sciences Association of Alberta

International Brotherhood Of Electrical Workers, Local 952

International Association of Fire Fighters, Local No. 1

International Association of Fire Fighters, Local No. 21

International Association of Fire Fighters, Local No. 632

International Brotherhood of Boilermakers

International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers

International Union of Operating Engineers Local 3

IUOE Stationary Engineers Local 39 Labor Council of New South Wales

Laborers' Local 223

Manitoba Government and General Employees' Union

National Association of Government Employees

New York Professional Nurses Union

New Zealand Post-Primary Teachers' Association Te Wehengarua

Northeast Regional Council of SMART

National Union of Public and General Employees (NUPGE)

Police Association of New South Wales

Shop Distributive & Allied Employees Association

Unite Here Local 26

United Steelworkers/Métallos